Each year an award recipient is selected from each of the three nomination categories: mental illness, developmental disabilities, and substance use disorders. They are celebrated at the annual Mental Health Champions’ Awards Banquet held in their honor. This year, the event will be on May 7, 2024, at the Capitol Plaza Hotel in Jefferson City.

If you have any questions regarding the Mental Health Champions Award, please contact the Missouri Mental Health Foundation at (573) 635-9201 or mmhf@missourimhf.org. If you prefer to submit via mail, use this PDF version of the nomination form.

Persons may be nominated in one of three categories:

  1. An individual with a diagnosed mental illness
  2. An individual with a developmental disability
  3. An individual in recovery from a substance or gambling addiction

Nomination Application

Mental Health Champion Nominations

"*" indicates required fields


Category Nominating In:*
Choose one (1) category to nominate the candidate in.



Please provide two references to verify the scope and extent of the nominee’s activities. References should be familiar with the nominee’s achievements, but not a family member of the nominee. The nominator does NOT count as a reference.

Reference #1

Reference #2


Accepted file types: jpg, png, jpeg, Max. file size: 8 MB.
We strongly encourage you to send a headshot now; it must be submitted at some point in the process. If you don’t upload one now, we’ll reach out.

Please Note: All nominees must sign a release form granting the Missouri Mental Health Foundation unlimited permission to use, film and publish their likenesses, as well as information about them.